Work and safety shoes (S1, S2 or S3) must be properly cared for according to the regulations of the European Union (EU REGULATION 2016/425) so that they retain their protective functions . The employer is responsible for this. The regulations for Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) apply here. What is professional and inexpensive shoe care ? This website provided by the non-profit organization European Shoe Shine Association  gives some answers.

Reconditioning of work shoes

S3 work shoes before and after professional reconditioning. Video material: European Shoe Shine Association

What has happened so far?

Usually employers do not know the regulations for shoe care   in detail. Nor do they know that there are easy and inexpensive remanufacturing options. That is why they buy new work shoes for their workforce every year. What seems simple at first glance is actually an expensive "solution". Because basically still usable shoes are thrown away. That burdens the budget of the company and the environment unnecessarily.

The alternative

All over Europe there are more and more companies that instead rely on professional shoe care . You commission external service providers to do this

offer professional reprocessing. This service is carried out by several companies certified by the European Shoe Shine Association.

The advantages of reprocessing:

  1. - cheaper than buying a new one

  2. - conserves resources and is environmentally friendly

  3. - more comfort and hygiene for employees

 

Remanufacturing in detail

Certified by the European Shoe Shine Association companies follow a process of  refurbishing  work and safety shoes basically following this procedure:

1. Cleaning and washing

2. Disinfection to remove viruses and bacteria

3. Care and impregnation of the various shoe materials

4. Optional replacement of the insoles (for safety shoes with original insoles from the manufacturer) or with certified insoles from third-party manufacturers

Legal bases

REGULATION (EU) 2016/425 OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL of 9 March 2016 on personal protective equipment.

Cost and price comparison

The costs for professional reconditioning vary between € 17 and € 35 per pair of shoes, depending on the workload . A survey of the shoe care companies that belong to the European Shoe Shine Association showed cost savings for employers of 20 to 30% compared to buying a new one.

Publications

High quality insoles to exchange with certification

The manufacturer Sib.Tre. Has had high-quality "Safety & Comfort" insoles made of leather and interchangeable fabric for work shoes certified by a recognized, independent laboratory in accordance with ISO standards EN 20344/2011 and 20345/2011.

20200822_102019.jpg

Arbeits- und Sicherheitsschuhe (S1, S2 oder S3) müssen laut den Vorschriften der Europäischen Union (EU-VERORDNUNG  2016/425) fachgerecht gepflegt werden, damit sie ihre Schutzfunktionen beibehalten. Verantwortlich hierfür ist der Arbeitgeber. Hierbei gelten die Bestimmungen zur Persönlichen Schutzausrüstung (PSA). Was ist eine fachgerechte und kostengünstige Schuhpflege ? Darüber informiert diese Webseite, die von der gemeinnützigen Vereinigung European Shoe Shine Association zusammengestellt wurde.

Wiederaufarbeitung von Arbeitsschuhen

 Arbeitsschuhe S3 vor und nach einer professionellen Wiederaufarbeitung. Videomaterial: European Shoe Shine Association  

Was passiert bislang ?

Viele Arbeitgeber kennen nicht die Vorschriften zur Schuhpflege im Detail. Sie wissen auch nicht, dass es kostengünstige Möglichkeiten der Wiederaufarbeitung gibt. Sie kaufen daher jedes Jahr neue Arbeitsschuhe für ihre Belegschaft. Was auf den ersten Blick einfache erscheint, ist tatsächlich jedoch eine teure "Lösung". Denn grundsätzlich noch nutzbare Schuhe werden weggeschmissen. Das Belastet das Budget der Firmen und die Umwelt unnötig.

Die Alternative

In ganz Europa gibt es immer mehr Firmen, die stattdessen auf eine fachgerechte Schuhpflege setzen. Sie beauftragen damit externe Dienstleister, die eine 

professionelle Wiederaufarbeitung anbieten. Diesen Service führen mehrere von der European Shoe Shine Association zertifizierten Betriebe durch.

Die Vorteile der Wiederaufbereitung:

  1. - billiger als Neu-Anschaffung

  2. - schont Ressourcen und ist umweltschonend

  3. - mehr Komfort für Mitarbeiter

 

Wiederaufarbeitung im Detail

Der von der Europäischen Schuhpfleger Vereinigung European Shoe Shine Association zertifizierte Prozess der Wiederaufarbeitung von Arbeits- und Sicherheitsschuhen sieht grundsätzlich folgende Schritte vor:

1. Reinigung und Waschen

2. Desinfizierung zur Beseitigung von Viren und Bakterien

3. Pflege und Imprägnierung der verschiedenen Schuh-Materialien

4. Optionales Auswechseln der Einlegesohlen (bei Sicherheitsschuhen durch original Einlegesohlen des Herstellers) oder durch zertifizierte Einlegesohlen von Drittherstellern

Rechtsgrundlagen

VERORDNUNG (EU) 2016/425 DES EUROPÄISCHEN PARLAMENTS UND DES RATES vom 9. März 2016 über persönliche Schutzausrüstungen.

Kosten und Preisvergleich

Die Kosten für eine professionelle Wiederaufbereitung schwanken je nach Arbeitsaufwand zwischen 17 € und 35 € pro 1 paar Schuhe. Eine Umfrage unter den Schuhpflegebetrieben, die der European Shoe Shine Association angehören, ergab eine Kostenersparnis für Arbeitgeber in Höhe von 20 bis 30 % gegenüber einem Neukauf.

Veröffentlichungen

Hochwertige Einlegesohlen zum Austauschen mit Zertifizierung

Hochwertige Einlegesohlen "Safety & Comfort aus Leder und Stoff zum Auwechseln für Arbeitsschuhe hat der Hersteller Sib.Tre. von einem anerkannten, unabhängigen Labor nach ISO Norm EN 20344/2011 und 20345/2011 zertifiezieren lassen.

20200822_102019.jpg

Datenschutzrichtlinie

European Shoe Shine Association (ESSA) BCE 0667.908.346

88, rue Baron de Castro B-1040 Bruxelles

+32-486-60 00 98

Working Shoes © 2020 by European Shoe Shine Association (ESSA)